Password Protected Directories
Learn how to create a protected and user-only area in your website with password-protected directories.
A password-protected directory or area is a folder which could be accessed only when a username and a password are entered, so no unauthorized individuals can see its content. This option may be used for the primary folder of a given Internet site or exclusively for a particular subfolder depending on your needs. As an example, if you are developing a new website and you do not want people to see it prior to it being ready, you have to limit the access to it altogether, and if you would like only some individuals to be able to access certain files, you are able to password-protect only a certain folder, while the rest of the website could be seen by everyone. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor inputs are not accurate. Even a direct link to a file shall not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting
Creating a password-protected area will take merely a couple of mouse clicks and a few seconds when you host your Internet sites in a shared website hosting account with us. You won't need to do anything challenging - you will have to pick a domain/subdomain, to choose which folder under it should be protected, and then to type in the login name and password which will be used to access that folder. When a number of individuals need their own login credentials, there will not be a problem to make a number of different usernames with access to the same exact folder. All protected folders will appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you will always know where this option is activated. If you'd like to disable the protection function for any folder, you can disable it from the exact same section of the Control Panel in which you have enabled it.